TITLE 2 PUBLIC FINANCE
CHAPTER 82 EDUCATIONAL RETIREMENT

PART 11 ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS
2.82.11.1 ISSUING AGENCY: Educational Retirement Board, P. O. Box 26129, Santa Fe, New Mexico
87502-0129.

[6/30/99; 2.82.11.1 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.1, 3-14-2008]

2.82.11.2 SCOPE: This rule sets forth the process for appealing a denial of a claim for retirement benefits
or a recommended denial of a claim for disability benefits.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.2 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.2, 3-14-2008; A, 6-16-2015]

2.82.11.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY: The Educational Retirement Act, Sections 22-11-1 to 22-11-55
NMSA 1978.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.3 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.3, 3-14-2008; A, 10-17-2017]

2.82.11.4 DURATION: Permanent.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.4 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.4, 3-14-2008]

2.82.11.5 EFFECTIVE DATE: June 30, 1999, unless a later date is cited at the end of a section.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.5 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 82.11.5, 3-14-2008]

2.82.11.6 OBJECTIVE: Specification of procedures for the disability appeals process.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.6 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.6, 3-14-2008]
2.82.11.7 DEFINITIONS: [Reserved]
2.82.11.8 GENERAL PROVISIONS:
A. A final written decision of the director which results in a denial of a claim for retirement-related

benefits or a recommendation of the medical review committee for a denial of an application for disability or
termination of disability benefits may be appealed by an affected member.

B. The appeal shall be initiated by the affected party serving on the director a notice of appeal within
30 days of the date of the letter in which the member received notice of the final decision or recommendation. The
notice of appeal must state the reasons for claiming the decision or recommendation is improper. If the claimant fails
to submit a notice of appeal as provided herein, the decision or recommendation shall become final.

C. The appeal shall be heard by a hearing officer designated by the board, unless otherwise provided
by the board.
D. Procedure.
@ The office of general counsel will establish internal procedures for processing appeals
within the parameters set by this rule.
2 Discovery and evidence.
(@) Following the filing of an appeal, the parties must submit to the hearing officer,

with a copy to the other parties, including copies separately addressed to the educational retirement board’s (ERB)
office of general counsel, at least 15 days prior to the scheduled hearing, any documentary evidence a party may
wish to present for consideration at the de novo hearing. The hearing officer may grant a request for extension of
time to submit documentary evidence for good cause, if such extension is not prejudicial to another party. This
documentary evidence shall include all documents that will be introduced as exhibits at the hearing. Failure to
comply with the requirements of this provision may result in the appeal proceeding without consideration of the
documentary evidence.

(b) At the same time documentary evidence is due to be submitted, the ERB may,
but is not required to, file a written response to claimant's notice of appeal.
(c) The parties shall provide to the other parties the names and addresses of persons

that may be called as witnesses at the hearing.

(d) Upon the written request of any party, pre-hearing discovery permitted by the
rules of civil procedure for the state district courts in New Mexico may be allowed as authorized by the hearing
officer.
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(e) Upon request, the claimant shall provide to the director authorizations for the
release of records regarding employment (whether self-employed or as an employee or an independent contractor)
and, in the case of a disability appeal, the claimant’s health care records.

) The rules of evidence do not apply, but the hearing officer may admit all
relevant evidence which in the hearing officer’s opinion is the best evidence most reasonably obtainable, having due
regard to its necessity, competence, availability and trustworthiness. Such evidence shall be given the weight the
hearing officer deems appropriate.

(o)) The hearing officer may, upon good cause shown, remand the matter back to the
director or the medical review committee for reconsideration.
?3) Hearing.
(@) A hearing shall be held within 90 days of receipt of the notice of appeal unless

the parties agree to an extension of time and the extension is approved in writing by the hearing officer. The hearing
officer also may grant an extension upon good cause shown by one party, without the agreement of other parties.
The parties shall be given at least 30 days written notice of the scheduled hearing. The hearing shall be held in Santa
Fe.

(b) A hearing involving the denial of disability benefits shall not be open to the
public.

(c) The board's authority to administer oaths is delegated to the hearing officer for
the purpose of conducting the hearing.

(d) The parties have the right to present argument and evidence orally, to present or
cross-examine witnesses, and to be accompanied by a New Mexico licensed attorney.

(e) The parties shall appear in person at the hearing, except as provided in this rule.
The claimant may appear by telephone or video conference when it is difficult or impossible for the claimant to
appear in person. A claimant who wishes to appear by telephone or video conference shall submit a written request
to the hearing officer at least five days prior to the hearing stating the reason(s) why it is difficult or impossible for
the claimant to appear in person. Failure of the party bringing the appeal or that party’s representative to appear in
person or by telephone or video conference at the hearing, without prior approval from the hearing officer, shall
result in automatic final denial of the appeal and any claims previously asserted. Witnesses may appear by telephone
or video conference if approved by the hearing officer.

()] If the party bringing the appeal or that party’s representative requests
rescheduling of a hearing so close to the time of the hearing that additional costs are incurred, any such additional
costs may be assessed against that party, such as court reporting or other costs.

(@) Burden of persuasion. Unless otherwise established by law, the party bringing the appeal
has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence the facts relied upon to show that such party is entitled
to relief or the benefit denied.

(5) Record. The hearing shall be recorded, and copies of all evidence offered shall be
maintained by the director for a period of five years. Any party desiring a transcript of the proceedings shall be
responsible for paying the cost, if any, of preparing such transcript. A party appealing the decision of the board to
the district court shall make arrangements with the director for the preparation of transcripts for that appeal.

(6) Written closing arguments. If any party requests permission to file a written closing
argument, the hearing officer may permit all parties to file written closing arguments and shall set a time for the
simultaneous filing of written closing arguments.

@) Recommended decision.

(a) The hearing officer shall prepare a recommended decision for the board’s
consideration. The hearing officer shall provide the parties a copy of the recommended decision upon its
completion. The hearing officer's recommended decision shall be based upon the evidence adduced at the hearing
and shall be issued within 60 days following the close of the record.

(b) The hearing officer shall propose findings of fact and conclusions of law as part
of the recommended decision.
(8) Exceptions to recommended decision.
(@) The parties may file exceptions to the hearing officer's recommended decision

with the board within 15 days of the date of issuance of the recommended decision. Any other party may file a
response to exceptions within 15 days of the date such exceptions were filed. Upon the written request of a party,
and for good cause shown, the hearing officer may extend the time to file exceptions and responses.

(b) Copies of such exceptions and any briefs shall be served on all parties and the
hearing officer, and a statement of such service shall be filed with the exceptions.
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(c) Exceptions to a hearing officer's recommended decision shall cite the precise
substantive or procedural issue to which exceptions are taken and shall be based solely on the evidence and
arguments presented at the hearing. Any exception that fails to comply with the foregoing requirements may be
disregarded.

(d) The hearing officer may file with the board a response to any exceptions filed
within 15 days of the date of filing of the exceptions and shall serve copies of the response on all parties.
E. Final action by the board.
@ The board shall consider the hearing officer's recommended decision, any exceptions to

the recommended decision together with supporting briefs, and the hearing officer's response to the exceptions, if
any. The board may review all of the record made before the hearing officer.

(2) The board shall not consider any additional oral argument, evidence or affidavits not in
the record before the hearing officer, or pleadings not filed in accordance with these rules.
) The board may request that the hearing officer be present at the time the board reviews a

recommended decision and may discuss the recommended decision with the hearing officer. Board deliberations
regarding the recommended decision and consultations with counsel to the board shall occur in closed session in
accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

(@) The board's final action shall be rendered in an open meeting no later than 180 days after
the date the hearing officer's recommended decision was issued. Board members who need additional time to review
the record before taking final action may ask the board chairman for additional time to complete the review. If
additional time is requested, the deadline for the board's final action shall be extended until the next regularly
scheduled board meeting.

5) Ex parte communication with board members or the hearing officer concerning a decision
that is on appeal is prohibited.
(6) The board may remand a recommended decision to the hearing officer for additional

findings, conclusions, clarification or the taking of additional evidence. Such a remand shall restart the time frames
contained in this rule.

@) The board shall approve, disapprove or modify the recommended decision, and shall
enter a final order concerning the matter being appealed. The board may modify the proposed conclusions of law
based on the proposed findings of fact. If the board wishes to modify the proposed findings of fact, it may do so only
after review of the record before the hearing officer. The board shall provide a reasoned basis for changing the
hearing officer's recommendation.

F. A refund of a member’s contributions pending appeal shall result in the forfeiture of service credit
and the automatic dismissal of an appeal and issuance of a notice of dismissal.
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.8 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.8, 3-14-2008; Repealed, 6-16-2015; 2.82.11.8 NMAC - N, 6-16-
2015; A, 10-17-2017]

2.82.11.9 PRE-HEARING PROCEDURES: [RESERVED]
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.9 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.9, 3-14-2008; Repealed, 6-16-2015]

2.82.11.10 HEARING PROCEDURES: [RESERVED]
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.10 NMAC - Rn & A, 2 NMAC 82.11.10, 3-14-2008; Repealed, 6-16-2015]

2.82.11.11 RECOMMENDED DECISION: [RESERVED]
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.11 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.11, 3-14-2008; Repealed, 6-16-2015]

2.82.11.12 DECISION BY THE EDUCATIONAL RETIREMENT BOARD: [RESERVED]
[6/30/99; 2.82.11.12 NMAC - Rn, 2 NMAC 82.11.12, 3-14-2008; Repealed, 6-16-2015]

HISTORY OF 2.82.11 NMAC:

Pre-NMAC History: The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center
and Archives under:

ERB 67-3, Rules and Procedures, filed 6/30/67.

ERB 78-1, Rules and Procedures, filed 8/7/78.

ERB Rule XI, Disability Appeals, filed 3/14/94.

History of Repealed Material: [Reserved]
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